Honorary Members

In 2019 the ISHG introduced Honorary membership. Honorary members are persons of eminence who have contributed to the advancement of human genetics in Ireland.

Individuals should be nominated through committee members and are then ratified by the ISHG committee.

If you wish to nominate someone who has made a significant lifetime contribution to genetics in Ireland, please send your nomination together with a justification for the award to one of the ISHG committee members.

Honorary members when ratified are invited to accept their lifetime achievement award at the ISHG Annual conference.

Dr David Barton

Dr Barton was Chief Scientist at the Department of Clinical Genetics at Our Lady‘s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin, where he directed the Molecular Genetics Laboratory at OLCHC providing genetic testing for inherited disorders. He retired from this role at the end of 2018.

David continues in his role as Adjunct Professor at the School of Medicine, UCD, educating the next generation of healthcare providers on the role and importance of genetics in the future of healthcare delivery.

David is a member of national and international networks designed to measure and improve the quality of genetic testing in Europe and worldwide. He chairs the Irish Molecular Diagnostics Network, the Board of Management at the European Molecular Genetics Quality Network (EMQN) and previously chaired the Advisory Group on Molecular Diagnostics at the Academy of Clinical Science & Laboratory Medicine. He is a member of the Genetic Services Quality Sub-Committee of the European Society of Human Genetics. Within these groups David also provides expertise in reference materials and the regulation of diagnostic devices.

David’s major research interest is in vesicoureteric reflux, a congenital anomaly causing kidney damage.

Prof David McConnell

Professor of Genetics at the Smurfit Institute

Prof David McConnell